Dolphins

Dolphins are amazing! They’re one of my favorite animals. Did you know that dolphins are highly intelligent marine mammals and are part of the family of toothed whales that includes orcas and pilot whales? They are found world wide mostly in shallow seas of the continental shelves, and are carnivores, mostly eating fish and squid. Dolphins colors varies, but they are usually gray with darker backs than the rest of their bodies. There are 43 different species of dolphins. 38 of them are marine dolphins which most of us think of when we think of dolphins. 5 of them are river dolphins, which I had never heard of before. The most common type is a bottlenose dolphin.  I love dolphins they’re my 2nd favorite animal. What is your favorite animal?

 

dolphins

Atlantic Spotted Dolphin - Stenella Plagiodon

One thought on “Dolphins

  1. Hi Avery I like dolphins too and they are intelligent, when I go to Florida I usually spot them especially in Miami that’s where the Football team name “Miami Dolphins” came from. But I wish you could put in the post what they are intelligent at. And I wonder what is their main meal? Follow me at http://blog.elanco.org/zookpe9/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *